Kenya Visa and Immigration Information


For those who will be arriving in Kenya on and after July 1st 2011, the new Visa rates will be as follows:

Single Journey Visa (SJV)- $50.
Multiple Journey Visa (MJV)-$100.
Transit Visa (TV)-$20.
Referral Visa-$20
Or the equivalent amount in Euros, GBP and SwissFrancs
Kenya has three international airports; Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi, Moi International Airport, Mombasa and Moi International Airport, Eldoret.

These airports service numerous international carriers including the national airline Kenya Airways. Kenya has good connections to destinations throughout Europe, the Asia- Pacific region, USA and Africa.

Kenya can be accessed by road from Tanzania, Uganda, Ethiopia, Sudan and Somalia. Immigration should be processed at land border stations. Entry by sea is possible, and immigration should be processed at a port facility.

Kenya Visa Information
A visa is required prior to entry into Kenya. A single Entry Visa(valid for three months from date of issue) will cost US$ 50. A transit visa will cost US$ 20 (You can also pay using Euros, GBP or SwissFrancs).

Citizens of the following countries need to have a visa prior to arrival in Kenya;

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Libya
  3. Senegal
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Lebanon
  6. Somali
  7. Armenia
  8. Mali
  9. Syria
  10. Cameroon
  11. North Korea
  12. Tadjikistan
  13. Iraq
  14. Eritrea
  15. Stateless Persons

For those whose country doesn’t appear in the list above, visas can be obtained at the Airport upon arrival. It’s advisable to obtain the visa from the Kenyan Embassy/High Commission in your country prior to departure.

* Note: The list of countries shown above is subject to change – For more information please check